Image Alt

Ministry of Information

OSUBI UNITY CUP: Udumugo Defeats Famous-Niyi Fc To Emerge Winners


OSUBI UNITY CUP: Udumugo Defeats Famous-Niyi Fc To Emerge Winners

At the keenly contested Osubi Community Unity Football Tournament, held at Osubi, today 31st December, 2023, Udumugo defeated Niyi-Famous Fc to emerge winners. Both sides played the best of football and gave a good count of themselves, thereby ending the game in panalty kicks.

The annual competition started with Ten Teams, grouped into group A and B, with Udumugo and Famous-Niyi Fc proceeding to the finals. Hon. Chief Solomon Ighrakpata, kicked off the game at about 4:30pm.

The tournament, which is the Third Edition, is sponsored by Sheriff Oborevwori Jnr, son of the Delta State Governor, Rt. Hon. Elder Sheriff Oborevwori.

The first Prize of the tournament was N1m (One Million Naira) while the second prize was N500,000 (Five Hundred Thousand Naira). Other prizes won were: Best player – Bright of Team Esiovwa, Highest Goal Scorer – Tuoyo of Team Udumure and Best Goal Keeper – Efe of Famous-Niyi Fc.

In the same vein, Sheriff Jnr, used the opportunity to present a Toyota Corolla to Mr O.C Omula.

The presentation of medals and prizes was heralded by beautiful and spectacular fire works.

In a brief address, Sheriff Jnr said, “the football tournament has become a tradition for the past three years, it has come to stay, this is the third edition, by the grace of God, it is now an annual event”.

He also added that “I expressed my heartfelt appreciation to the Organizers of the tournament, headed by
Oghenede-Roy Uruemu and all dignitaries who attended the event from far and near, may God bless you all.

Earlier, there was a novelty match between Sheriff Oborevwori Jnr and friends versus the Science family. The encounter ended 1:0, in favour of Sheriff Oborevwori Jnr and friends with the only goal scored by Lati Salami.

The side attractions of the event were: the performances by “Christmas In Delta Parade” and Nigeria Supporters Club Warri.

Dignitaries in attendance include, Hon Chief Solomon Ighrakpata, Chairman Delta State Revenue Board, Hon. Chief Isaiah Esiovwa, Okpe council boss, Hon. Chief Eugene Inoghan, Sapele council boss, Hon Ramson Onoyake, Uvwie council boss, Mr Ese Jamani, Honourable Commissioner for Environment, Amb Dr. Shedrack Agediga, Chairman Delta State Scholarship and Bursary Board, Hon. Goru Karo, Board member DESOPADEC and host of others.

Add Comment


Follow us: